The Soul Train Music Awards is among one of the more important award shows on television that lovers of R&B and Soul Music annually look forward to. This year marks the 30th anniversary of the award show since it began in 1987. Performers and nominees has already been announced. Erykah Badu has been revealed as the show host for the third time in a row. Erykah Badu has took on the hosting gig for the 2015 and the 2016 awards in the past. The show is scheduled to be air on November 26th on BET. The neo-soul artist has also performed last year during the BET Soul Train Awards. While she may have not released much music this year, we’re truly believe that she has quite a few future hit songs up her sleeve.

The nominations for the award show recently came out. Solange is in the lead with seven nominations including Best Album and The Ashford & Simpson Songwriters Award, and Song Of The Year. Meanwhile, Bruno Mars sits behind her in nominations with six. SZA is nominated for four categories as well. There are other artists with a notable amount of nominations as well including Rihanna, DJ Khaled, Bryson Tiller as well as Khalid. As usual, the BET Soul Train Awards continue to honor some of the best artists out right now within the R&B and Hip Hop field.

They’ve already announced their first wave of performers as well. Unfortunately, none of the our favorite hip hop acts look like they’ll be

The list of R&B and Soul stars looking to perform are looking to take the stage but they’ll definitely be including Toni Braxton, SWV, Tamar Braxton, 112, Tank and Kirk Franklin. It’s definitely at award show that you don’t want to miss.

For more info:

Here are the list of BET Award nominees:

Best New Artist

Kevin Ross

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist

Bruno Mars
Bryson Tiller
Chris Brown
The Weeknd

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist

Lalah Hathaway
Mary J. Blige

Soul Train Certified Award

Bell Biv Devoe
Johnny Gill
Lalah Hathaway
Mack Wilds

Video of the Year

Beyoncé – All Night
Bruno Mars – 24K Magic
Chris Brown Ft. Usher & Gucci Mane – Party
DJ Khaled Ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller – Wild Thoughts
Solange – Cranes In The Sky

Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

Chance the Rapper
Charlie Wilson
Kirk Franklin
Tamela Mann

Album or Mixtape Of The Year

Bruno Mars – 24k Magic
Mary J. Blige – Strength Of A Woman
Solange – A Seat At The Table
Sza – Ctrl
The Weeknd – Starboy

Rhythm & Bars Award

Cardi B – Bodak Yellow
Dj Khaled Ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller – Wild Thoughts
French Montana Ft. Swae Lee – Unforgettable
Kendrick Lamar – Humble
Yo Gotti Ft. Nicki Minaj – Rake It Up

Song Of The Year

Bruno Mars – That’s What I Like
Childish Gambino – Redbone
Dj Khaled Ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller – Wild Thoughts
Khalid – Location
Solange – Cranes In The Sky

The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award

Cranes In The Sky – Written By Troy L. John, Solange Knowles, Raphael Saadiq (Solange)
Location – Written By Alfredo Emmanuel Gonzalez, Olatunji Olutomiwa, Samuel David Jimenez, Khalid Robinson, Joshua Scruggs (Khalid)
Love Me Now – Written By Blake Matthew Simon Mills, John Henry Ryan, John Roger Stephens (John Legend)
Redbone – Written By George Clinton, William Earl Collins, Gary Lee Cooper, Donald McKinley Glover Ii, Ludwig Emil Tomas Goransson (Childish Gambino)
Versace On The Floor – Written By Christopher Steven Brown, James Edward Fauntleroy, Bruno Mars, Philip Martin Lawrence (Bruno Mars)

Best Dance Performance

Bruno Mars – 24K Magic
Chris Brown Ft. Usher & Gucci Mane – Party
Dj Khaled Ft. Rihanna & Bryson Tiller – Wild Thoughts
Solange Ft. Sampha – Don’t Touch My Hair
Wizkid Ft. Drake – Come Closer

Best Collaboration

Dj Khaled Ft. Rihanna and Bryson Tiller – Wild Thoughts
Jazmine Sullivan and Bryson Tiller – Insecure
Mary J. Blige Ft. Kanye West – Love Yourself
Solange Ft. Sampha – Don’t Touch My Hair
Sza Ft. Travis Scott – Love Galore


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. * Denotes required fields.

Note: All comments are held for moderation before being posted.